Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

The Girl From Chickasaw County: Complete Capitol Masters (2CD)

Standard Edition | 2 CD
Release: 05-08-2022

€ 2499

Wordt maandag, 25-09-2023 verzonden.


Bobbie is notable as one of the first female country artists to compose and produce her own material. During her five-year tenure at Capitol, she penned at least two songs that have become certified classics, ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ and ‘Fancy’, among dozens of original compositions.

Bobbie released eight Capitol albums in total, heralded by the smash hit debut ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ (Which displaced Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely-Hearts Club Band from the top of the charts in the US). Delta Sweete, her third, is another highlight. MOJO magazine listed it in their top 500 greatest albums of all time and memorably described her as the ‘JD Salinger of rock n roll.’

She quit the scene over 40 years ago (1978), and unlike everyone who returns, she has stayed out of sight. She remains one of the few genuine mysteries of popular music. Because she was so popular (No.1 singles/Albums, BBC TV series, Vegas residency) her abilities as a writer, producer and arranger were too often overlooked, she paved the way for Joni Mitchell and Carly Simon. Bobbie’s songs continue to influence a new generation of artists like Cheryl Crow, Beth Orton, Lucinda Williams and Roseanne Cash all of whom have cited her as an influence and covered her songs.

In 2018 UMC released Capitol years boxset consisted of 8CDs, this is the first ever large-scale retrospective containing the first UK reissues of her albums in their entirety – supplemented by 76 previously unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate takes from all Bobbie’s Capitol albums. 

This new 2CD is a cut down version of the boxset and feature a selection of the unreleased bonus material from the 8CD package, including an alternate take of Sunday Best, demo of Hurry, Tuesday Child, Mississippi Delta alternate version and many more. The CD will have a 38 page book with a selection of images used in the boxset and sleeve notes.


CD 1

  1. Ode to Billie Joe
  2. I Saw an Angel Die
  3. Chickasaw County Child
  4. Sunday Best [alternate take]
  5. Hurry, Tuesday Child [demo]
  6. Niki Hokey / Barefootin’ [Live on the BBC]
  7. Mississippi Delta [alternate version]
  8. The Seventh Son [Band version]
  9. Okolona River Bottom Band
  10. Mornin' Glory
  11. Jessye' Lisabeth
  12. Refractions
  13. Courtyard
  14. Feelin’ Good [demo]
  15. Sweete Peony [alternate Version]
  16. Casket Vignette
  17. Recollection
  18. Eleanor Rigby
  19. Sittin’ Pretty
  20. Hushabye Mountain
  21. The Conspiracy of Homer Jones
  22. Sunday Mornin' [alternate version]
  23. Let It Be Me (duet with Glen Campbell) [without strings]

CD 2

  1. Suppertime
  2. God Bless The Child
  3. This Girl’s In Love With You
  4. Touch 'Em with Love [stereo version]
  5. Greyhound Goin' Somewhere
  6. Seasons Come, Seasons Go [demo]
  7. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing [alternate take]
  8. Fancy
  9. Find 'Em, Fool 'Em and Forget 'Em
  10. He Made A Woman Out of Me
  11. Rainmaker
  12. Circle ‘Round the Sun
  13. Apartment 21 [Stereo 7” version]
  14. Billy the Kid [Live on the BBC]
  15. Benjamin
  16. But I Can't Get Back
  17. Belinda [acoustic version]
  18. Mean Stepmama Blues
  19. Lookin' In
  20. Smoke
  21. Joanne
  22. You And Me Together
  23. The Girl from Cincinnati
Releasedatum 05-08-2022
Producttype CD
Inhoud 2 CD
Editie Standard Edition
Exclusive Nee
Reissue Nee
Boxset Nee
Coloured Vinyl Nee
EAN 0600753956533