Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Madman Across The Water (4LP Boxset)

180g Black Vinyl | Deluxe Edition | 4 LP
Release: 01-08-2023

€ 12499

Wordt maandag, 25-09-2023 verzonden.

Koop je voor het eerst vinyl? Bekijk onze vinyl informatiepagina voor tips en tricks.

Elton John’s fourth studio album release in little over two years, Madman Across The Water has been a long held dear favourite of artist and fans alike. Madman Across The Water was largely written after Elton had made his initial foray to America; offering the opportunity for lyricist Bernie Taupin to witness first-hand the landscapes and people he’d only seen on a screen or on the page. Recorded at Trident Studios in Central London in February and August 1971, it was the first album where all five players of Elton’s fabled band line up – Dee Murray, Nigel Olsson, Davey Johnstone and Ray Cooper – were featured, albeit not on the same tracks.

While the UK were still deciding about Elton, these nine tracks struck a chord with Elton’s US audiences, reaching the Top 10 and its singles, ‘Levon’ and ‘Tiny Dancer’ both hit the US Top 50. After years as a ‘best kept secret’ to Elton’s fans, ‘Tiny Dancer’ has gone on to become one of his most loved songs, third only to Rocket Man and Your Song in global streaming lists. Capturing the headiness of California at the time of Elton’s first US concerts, the song was used to phenomenal effect in Cameron Crowe’s 2000 film Almost Famous.

4LP BOX SET – 180gm w/ 18 previously unreleased tracks

The box set includes a 40-page booklet with introductions by Elton and Bernie, photos and full essay featuring interviews with many who helped make Madman Across The Water, plus a reproduction 1971 poster, as well as memorabilia and artwork from the Rocket Archive.

LP ONE: Remaster of Madman Across The Water

LP TWO & THREE: Demos, live and alternative versions

LP FOUR: BBC Sounds For Saturday concert, first broadcast in 1972



LP1 - Side A

  1. Tiny Dancer (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  2. Levon (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  3. Razor Face (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  4. Madman Across The Water (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)

LP1 - Side B

  1. Indian Sunset (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  2. Holiday Inn (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  3. Rotten Peaches (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)
  4. All The Nasties (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)

LP2 - Side A

  1. Indian Sunset (Live Radio Broadcast)
  2. Madman Across The Water (Original Version, featuring Mick Ronson)
  3. Rock Me When He's Gone
  4. Levon (Mono Single Version)
  5. Goodbye (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)

LP2 - Side B

  1. Razor Face (Extended Version)
  2. Rock Me When He's Gone (Piano Demo)
  3. Rock Me When He's Gone (Full Version)

LP3 - Side A

  1. Madman Across The Water (1970 Piano Demo)
  2. Tiny Dancer (Piano Demo)
  3. Levon (Piano Demo)
  4. Razor Face (Piano Demo)
  5. Madman Across The Water (1971 Piano Demo)

LP3 - Side B

  1. Indian Sunset (Piano Demo)
  2. Holiday Inn (Piano Demo)
  3. Rotten Peaches (Piano Demo)
  4. All The Nasties (Piano Demo)
  5. Goodbye (Piano Demo)

LP4 - Side A

  1. Tiny Dancer (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  2. Rotten Peaches (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  3. Razor Face (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  4. Holiday Inn (BBC Sounds For Saturday)

LP4 - Side B

  1. Indian Sunset (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  2. Levon (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  3. Madman Across The Water (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
  4. Goodbye (BBC Sounds For Saturday)
Releasedatum 01-08-2023
Producttype Vinyl
Inhoud 4 LP
Editie Deluxe Edition
Vinyl details 180g Black Vinyl
Exclusive Nee
Reissue Ja
Boxset Ja
Coloured Vinyl Nee
EAN 0602435836188